Easy Almond Flour Pancakes!

Easy Almond Flour Pancakes (gluten-free, grain-free, sugar-free, paleo, candida friendly)

IMG_2410

Attention please: I interrupt detoxification month for an important recipe – Easy  almond flour pancakes! A friend of mine recently requested that I post my favourite paleo-friendly pancake recipe to date, so here goes.

One of the foods I miss most since being on AIP (autoimmune paleo) in combination with the candida diet, is pancakes! Oh how I enjoyed my Sunday morning pancakes. When I first shifted to more of a paleo inspired diet, I would try out a new pancake recipe each weekend – there are a ton of great paleo pancake recipes floating around. The main difficulty I found was being able to flip the pancakes without completely destroying them and also feeling like they tasted too “eggy”. The one I am going to share, while not AIP, is suitable for those who are eating paleo, gluten-free, grain-free, sugar-free and are on the candida diet. What I like most about this recipe is its simplicity (few, easy to find ingredients) and ease of preparation. I hope you enjoy them!

Ingredients:

2 eggs
3 tbsp almond flour
3 tbsp full fat coconut milk
3 tbsp finely shredded coconut (unsweetened)
1 tsp vanilla extract
½ tsp cinnamon
Pinch of stevia extract powder (or you can try 1-1.5 tbsp raw honey if tolerated — I’ve never attempted this, it’s just an estimate)
Coconut oil for frying

Method:

1. Mix all ingredients together in a bowl until smooth-ish (it will be a little chunky from the shredded coconut).
2. Heat small amount of coconut oil over medium heat.
3. Pour batter on pan to form small pancakes (about ¼ cup of batter or less each)
4. Let cook 4-5 min on first side and about 2 min on the second side.
5. Top with whatever pleases your taste buds – butter & cinnamon, maple syrup (if tolerated), melted coconut butter (that’s what I chose to do for this batch), apple butter or your favourite nut butter.

Tip: Wait until the pancakes are cooked well on one side before flipping or they may break apart. They’re worth the wait! Also, for each additional person you are making them for, I would double the recipe.

For those of us who are on AIP, I have yet to find an egg-free, nut-free, seed-free and grain-free recipe. If you have one, please, please, please send my way!

2 responses to “Easy Almond Flour Pancakes!

  1. look real good. When I find the chance to get almond flour and what else is needed I will definitely try them. what’s the stuff you poured over top of them?

    • I topped them with melted coconut butter – that stuff is seriously addictive! You can make your own using unsweetened shredded coconut or flakes. I made some yesterday so I will post it today hopefully.

Leave a Reply

