Homemade Honey Facial Cleanser

IMG_2509

After spending eight years straight on an oral contraceptive, my hormones were pretty whacked out for a good year and a half (and are still working their way back into balance). I was getting a lot of hormonal acne around the jaw line and chin and my periods actually stopped coming for an entire year. It was pretty scary not knowing whether or not I would start ovulating again or when the acne would subside. Other than the odd zit in my teenage years, I had never been prone to breaking out and it was disheartening for it to start happening at this point in my life.

I started to search online for gentle, homemade facial cleanser recipes and was stoked when I came across this three ingredient honey facial cleanser. Along with other measures I took to start getting my hormones back in balance, this face wash definitely seemed to help clear up the chin acne. You most likely won’t need a moisturizer with this face wash because honey helps to hold moisture in the skin. In addition, raw honey has antimicrobial properties, is high in minerals and antioxidants and contains gluconic acid, which is great for brightening complexion, evening out skin tone and lightening scars/aging spots. 

As always, the major benefit of DIY beauty products is that you know exactly what is in them and you can avoid exposing yourself to harmful chemicals like parabens, sulfates and artificial colours and fragrances.

What you’ll need:

  • 3 tbsp raw honey
  • 1/2 cup vegetable glycerin
  • 2 tbsp liquid castile soap (I use Dr. Bronner’s Unscented Baby Mild)
  • Empty container from a previous face wash. It doesn’t have to have a pump dispenser. I used an empty Dr. Bronner’s bottle.

Note: This recipe is adapted from http://www.towards-sustainability.com/2008/07/homemade-honey-facial-cleanser.html. I have substituted the “runny honey” for raw honey.

How to:
1. Measure out 3 tbsp of raw honey and place in a ceramic mug.
2. Put boiling water in a large bowl and place the cup with raw honey into the hot water bath just long enough so that the consistency of the honey turns runny and easy to stir.
3. Mix the vegetable glycerin, liquid castile soap and honey together in a bowl and then carefully pour into your container. It might be helpful to use a funnel, but I have done fine without it.

IMG_2511

To be honest with you guys, this is the first time I am trying it with raw honey, so I am hoping it stays in somewhat of a liquid state with the glycerin and castile soap. If not, it will still make a great cleanser, just a little more difficult to get out of the bottle 🙂

Feel free to share your favourite DIY facial cleanser in the comments below!

2 responses to “Homemade Honey Facial Cleanser

  1. I tried this, and it works pretty well for me (not 100%, but definitely an improvement)! However, two aspects I don’t love about it: it smells funny (perhaps the vegetable glycerin?), and the texture is super runny. Any tips for improving either aspect?

    • Hi there! Just an FYI, I am no longer posting on this blog. I use http://www.kristenragno.com. I hear you about the smell! You can try adding a drop or two of lavender or another essential oil for that. In terms of it being too runny, you could try adding more honey. However, I don’t find mine super runny, so perhaps it is the glycerin or honey you are using. You could add some guar gum perhaps, but I am not sure how much to try or if this would help at all.

Leave a Reply

